

ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

A117.1 Committee Minutes #11 Thursday, July 14, 2022 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205 Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

1) Welcome and Introductions

- 1) Call to order the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern
- 2) Meeting attendance: Committee members
 - Ken Schoonover, Chair Individual Member
 - Doug Anderson, AHLA, Principal
 - Trent Behr, NEII (Alternate)
 - Billie Louise (Beezy) Bentzen. AERBVI, Principal
 - Gene Boecker NATO alternate
 - Kevin Brinkman, NEII, Principal
 - Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)
 - Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal
 - Paula Cino, National Multifamily Housing Council, Principal
 - Bill Conner, Alternate, ASTC
 - David W. Cooper, SMA, Principal
 - Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal
 - Alan Gettelman, Individual Member
 - John S. Gonzalez ICC Alternate
 - Greg Guarnaccia Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)
 - Gina Hilberry, UCP, Principal
 - Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal
 - Allison Lourash, LPA, Principal
 - Marsha Mazz: United Spinal Association, Principal
 - Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES, Alternate
 - Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal
 - Rex Pace, HUD, Principal
 - Jake Pauls, Individual member
 - Lucy Pereira, ISA, Alternate
 - Kenny Peskin, International Sign Association, alternate
 - Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate
 - Bill Richardson AEMA, Principal

- Ed Roether, individual member
- Nathan Roether, United Spinal, Alternate
- Josh Schorr, US Access Board, alternate
- Jessica Schrader, SEGD, Principal
- Leslie Shankman-Cohn ASID Principal
- Michael Tierney, BHMA Principle
- Sharon Toji, HLAA Principal
- Richard Williams, WABO Alternate
- R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal
- Scott Windley US Access Board Principal
- Hale Zukas, World Institute on Disability, Principal

Interested parties:

- Angeline Aradanas-Hall RA, ASID, Hall Architects
- Amy Carpenter, SFCS Architects
- Andy Cid BFS
- Ronald Crouch, AIA Moseley Architects
- Karen Gridley, MN DLI/CCLD Construction Codes Division
- Thomas Hirsch, FAIA representing self
- Hoyt Jeter, City of Tacoma
- Ramiro Mata ASPE
- Ashley Pitts AIA, CASp Jensen Hughes
- Len Pursell, Stanley Access Technologies
- Norman Wang, RA Maryland Dept of Labor, Building Codes Administration
- Tim Weller AHC/CDC, FDAI Allegion
- Brian K. Willis, P.E. Self
- Laurel W, Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.
- Jeff Yanke, CASp Evan Terry Associates
- Bill Zellmer AIA, CASp Sutter Health, Sacramento
- Thomas Zuzik Jr Representing NOMMA

B. Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 6-30-2022 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter meetings July 15 from 11-1 Eastern
- Stanchions for bathtubs and showers meetings TBD
- Adult changing 2nd presentation May 19 meetings TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21 presentation meeting July 5 from 12-2 Eastern; July 18 from 2:30 to 4:30 Eastern

- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, starting May 25, 1-3 Eastern
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meeting TBD

C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at <u>A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022</u>
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>

D. ICC A117.1 development procedures -

E) Review of Proposals:

1) Proposals:

The following proposals were decided during the call. See the report for official committee reasons and final actions. Any items remaining on the agenda will roll to the next agenda -

04-27 with modification – As modified by replacement 19-2-5
04-26 - D 20-0-4
04-28 – AM 5-16-4; D 21-1-1
04-31 – AS 2-22-1; D 25-0-1
04-33 with modification – published modification is editorial; split question – Part 1 - Section 407.4.10 – remove "two-way" AS 4-18-3; D 21-3-1
Part 2 - Remainder of proposal – AS 22-0-3 with editorial modification
04-32 – AS 6-16-4; D 23-2-1
05-23 - withdrawn
05-24 – hold till July 28 per communications task group
05-25 – hold till July 28 per communications task group
05-11 – AS 11-12-3; D 20-4-2
05-12 – AS 3-22-1; D 22-1-2

05-14 with modification – AS 4-20-2; D 23-2-1

Remaining items on the agenda will roll to the next meeting.

F) **New business:** None

G) Future meetings:

- Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern. The meeting dates for this year are: March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
- 2) Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>ICC A117.1 webpage</u>

- Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H**) **Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 3:30.